

(Back L-R): Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Soh Wah Ngee, Dr Tong Ming Chuan, Dr Raymond Chua, Dr Tan Cheng Bock, Dr Toh Han Chong, Dr Geh Min, Dr Tan Sze Wee, Dr Wong Sze Tai, Dr Tammy Chan, Dr Bertha Woon, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Chin Jing Jih, Dr Teoh Siang Chin, Dr Oh Jen Jen and Dr Alex Yeo Sow Nam.

(Front L-R): Prof & Mrs Foo Keong Tatt, Dr & Mrs Lim Wee Kiak, Dr & Mrs Lee Suan Yew, Mrs & Mr Khaw Boon Wan, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Mr Heng Chee How (Minister for State, Ministry of Health).

# **SMA Annual Dinner**

Prof Foo Keong Tatt and Dr Lee Suan Yew added to Honorary Members Roll

olleagues and invited guests gathered at the Raffles Town Club's Dunearn Ballroom on the evening of 13 May 2007 to honour outstanding members of the medical profession. The occasion was the SMA Annual Dinner, which was graced by Mr Khaw Boon Wan, Minister for Health.

This year, SMA conferred Honorary Memberships on Prof Foo Keong Tatt, and Dr Lee Suan Yew, in recognition of their meritorious service to the medical profession. Their citations were delivered by Dr Tan Eng Choon and Dr T Thirumoorthy respectively (pages 14 and 15).

Here are other highlights from the dinner.

#### **SMA MERIT AWARDS**

The SMA Merit Awards are presented in recognition of significant contributions to SMA and the medical profession, social service to the community or commendable personal achievements. Two recipients were selected this year, for social service to the community. The first award went to **Dr Geh Min**, for her conservation efforts for the environment. Dr Geh is also President of the Nature Society of Singapore. The second recipient was **Dr James Khoo Chee Min**, in recognition of his conservation work with buildings and his support of the arts.



(L-R): Dr Lee Suan Yew, Dr Chee Phui Hung, Minister of Health Mr Khaw Boon Wan and Prof Foo Keong Tatt.



(Back L-R): Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Mrs & Prof Foo Keong Tatt, Mrs & Dr Lee Suan Yew, Dr Tan Cheng Bock. (Front L-R): Mrs Khaw, Mr Heng Chee How, Mr Khaw Boon Wan, Datuk Dr Teoh Siang Chin (President, Malaysian Medical Association).



(Back L-R): Dr Lim Wee Kiak, Prof Raj Nambiar, Dr Tong Ming Chuan, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Soh Wah Ngee. (Front L-R): Mrs Lim, Dr Geh Min, Mrs Nambiar, Mrs Soh.



(Back L-R): Dr Patricia Ng, Dr Chin Jing Jih, Dr Khoo Bee Sim, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr & Mrs Tan Chong Hiok. (Front L-R): Mrs & Dr N K Yong, Dr & Mrs James Khoo.



SMJ Best Research Paper Award 2006: Dr Wilson Tan (Medical Advisor, Pfizer) presents the first prize to Prof Chan Soh Ha.



(Back L-R): Dr Y Y Sitoh, Dr Soon-Keng Cheong, Prof Nem-Yun Boo, Prof & Mrs Chan Soh Ha. (Front L-R): Ms Loy Li Li, Dr Bertha Woon, Dr Wilson Tan, Prof & Mrs Lee Eng Hin.

◄ Page 11 – SMA Annual Dinner



(Back L-R): Dr Ling Chaw Ming, Dr Chen Ai Ju, Dr Chew Chin Hin, Prof Lee Yong Kiat (Front L-R): Mrs Lee, Mrs & Dr Robert Loh, Mrs Chew.



(Back L-R): Dr Voo Yau Onn, Dr Loh Yik Hin, Dr Raymond Chua, Dr Chan Miow-Swan, Dr Lee Heow Yong. (Front L-R): Dr Lim Wei Yen, Dr Joanne Tay, Dr Lee Chien Earn, Dr Jeffrey Cutter.



(Back L-R): Prof Fock Kwong Ming, Dr Low Cheng Ooi, Dr See Hung Foo, Dr Goh Siang Hiong, Dr Yoong Chee Seng, Dr Paul Chang. (Front L-R): Mr T K Udairam, Dr Christopher Lien, Dr Teo Eng Kiong, Dr Lee Yik Voon.



(Back L-R): Dr Tan Kok Soo, Dr Tan Yew Ghee, Dr Low Lip Ping. (Front L-R): Mrs Tan Kok Soo, Dr Tammy Chan, Dr & Mrs Lim Teck Beng, Mrs Low.



(L-R): Ms Susie Kong, Ms Tan Wee King, Ms Christina Loh and Ms Celestine Fong.



The SMA Secretariat.

### Page 12 – SMA Annual Dinner

#### SMJ BEST RESEARCH PAPER AWARDS

A total of 113 original articles published between January and December 2006 in the *Singapore Medical Journal (SMJ)* were considered for the annual awards, which aim to give due recognition to local and regional researchers for outstanding research papers. The panel of judges included Prof Chee Yam Cheng, Prof Lee Eng Hin and Prof Ong Yong Yau. The winners were:

First Prize – **Prof Chan Soh Ha, Dr Patrick Tan Tong Nam, Dr Han Htay H and Dr Bock Hans L** for their paper "Immunogenicity and reactogenicity of a reduced-antigencontent diphtheria-tetanus-acellular pertussis vaccine as a single-dose booster in Singaporean adults".

Second Prize – **Dr Hemant Parmar, Dr Xavier Golay, Dr Kim-En Lee, Dr Francis Hui and Dr Yih-Yian Sitoh** for their paper "Early experiences with diffusion tensor imaging and magnetic resonance tractography in stroke patients".

Third Prize – **Prof Nem-Yun Boo**, **Dr Mohd-Amin Itam, A/Prof Bilkis Abdul-Aziz and Dr Yong-Junina Fadzil** for their paper "Predictors of failed closure of patent ductus arteriosus with indomethacin".

All winners received a cash award, commemorative trophy and certificate.

SMA and SMJ would like to take this opportunity to thank Pfizer Pte Ltd for continuing to sponsor the cash award of \$5,000 for the first prize. The cash awards for the second and third prizes, and the trophies for all winners, were sponsored by SMA.

## **RETIRED COUNCIL MEMBERS**

In recognition of contributions to the SMA Council and its committees, tokens of appreciation were presented to two retired Council Members:

- **Dr Soh Wah Ngee** was Council Member from 2003 to 2007. He was also our Honorary Assistant Treasurer from 2004 to 2005 and served on various committees.
- **Dr John Chiam Yih Hsing** was Council Member from 2003 to 2007 and served on various committees.

# **SMA STAFF LONG SERVICE AWARDS**

Another long-serving staff and the Secretariat's Finance and Administration Manager, **Ms Angeline Teoh**, received her 10-year Long Service Award.

SMA would like to take this opportunity to thank all guests who attended the dinner and made it a success. ■



As a token of appreciation, SMA presented Mr Khaw Boon Wan with a calligraphy work containing the two Chinese characters 禅悦, which can be translated literally into "Zen delight".

Taken from the Buddhist scriptures 华岩经 and 广弘明, the phrase describes a state of peace and tranquillity, both felt internally and expressed outwardly, in a person who experiences spiritual enlightenment through an appreciation of philosophical ideas in Buddhist scriptures.