REPORT



(Standing L-R): Dr Bertha Woon, Dr Chow U-Jin, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr Tan Sze Wee, Dr Toh Han Chong, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Noorul Fatha As'art, Dr Tan Yia Swam, Prof Wong Tien Yin (Seated L-R): Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Tammy Chan, Dr Toh Choon_Lai, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar, Dr Wong Tien Hua

SMA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

51st **SMA Council** 2010 – 2011

President 1st Vice President 2nd Vice President Honorary Secretary Assistant Honorary Secretary Honorary Treasurer Assistant Honorary Treasurer Council Members

Dr Chong Yeh Woei Dr Toh Choon Lai A/Prof Chin Jing Jih Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar Dr Wong Tien Hua Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui Dr Lee Yik Voon Dr Chow U-Jin Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Noorul Fatha As'art Dr Tan Sze Wee Dr Tan Yia Swam Dr Toh Han Chong Dr Wong Chiang Yin Prof Wong Tien Yin Dr Bertha Woon Yng Yng

New Faces in Council



Dr Chow U-Jin



Dr Noorul Fatha As'art

REPORT

his year's AGM was held on 4 April 2010 (Sunday) at the Alumni Auditorium and saw the re-election of Dr Chong Yeh Woei as SMA President for the

second year.

Dr Toh Choon Lai, an othopaedic surgeon in private practice, was elected as 1st Vice President. A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, a Senior Consultant Geriatrician and Divisional Chairman, Integrative and Community Care, Tan Tock Seng Hospital, was elected as 2nd Vice President.

The new Council also welcomed two new members, Dr Chow U-Jin and Dr Noorul Fatha As'art. Dr Chow is currently the Medical Director and Director of Operations at Ephone International, and served on the SMA Medical IT Subcommittee last year. Dr Noorul is an Assistant Director at the Ministry of Health, overseeing and participating in the formulation of national policies and strategies.

The Council also expressed its appreciation to retired Council Members, Dr Ho Kaiwei and Dr Yeo Sow Nam for their invaluable contributions to the SMA Council and various SMA Committees.

The Installation Ceremony for the 51st SMA Council was conducted on the same day, after the AGM, at the SMA Conference room. The following are other highlights from the AGM.

SMA HONORARY MEMBERSHIP

Members present unanimously supported the election of Senior Minister of State Dr Balaji Sadasivan, Prof Tan Cheng Lim, and Prof Woo Keng Thye to SMA Honorary Membership. The Honorary Membership will be conferred at the SMA Annual Dinner on 8 May 2010 (Saturday) at Shangri-La Hotel.

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS

In view of the lack of quorum at the AGM, the proposed amendments to the Constitution were not discussed. These amendments included:

- i. The option for the Council to waive subscription fees for student memberships
- ii. Waiving subscription fees for spouse members
- iii. Appointment of the Director of CMEP to run CMEP as an autonomous unit
- iv. Nominees for the position of SMA President to be fully registered in the Register of the Singapore Medical Council for at least 10 years

SMA PTE LTD TRUSTEES

The House approved the re-appointment of the following as SMA Pte Ltd Trustees for a five-year term from 2010 to 2015:

- Dr Tan Cheng Bock @ Adrian Tan
- Prof Low Cheng Hock
- Dr Yong Nen Khiong

PROFESSIONAL AUDITORS

Members present unanimously agreed to reappoint BP Yap & Company as the Professional Auditors for the ensuing year. mm