Report

52nd SNA Annual General Meeting

This year's Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on 17 April 2011 at the Alumni Auditorium in the Alumni Medical Centre. Dr Chong Yeh Woei was re-elected as SMA President for the third year running. A/Prof Chin Jing Jih was elected as 1st Vice President, and Dr Toh Choon Lai was elected as 2nd Vice President.

The Installation Ceremony for the 52nd SMA Council was conducted on the same day, after the AGM, at the SMA Conference Room.

SMA Honorary Membership

Members present unanimously supported the election of Dr Tan Kok Soo and Dr Charles Toh as recipients of the SMA Honorary Membership. Dr Tan is a general practitioner in private practice and was President of SMA from 1993 to 1996, and Dr Toh is a cardiologist in private practice and has contributed greatly to public service. The Honorary Membership was later conferred on Dr Tan and Dr Toh at the SMA Annual Dinner on 14 May 2011 at the Grand Hyatt Singapore.

Constitutional amendments

There was a quorum at the AGM, as more than 50 SMA members had turned up. Consequently, the proposed amendments to the Constitution were discussed. These amendments included:

- The option for the Council to waive subscription fees for student memberships for one financial year. Extension of waiver beyond one financial year shall require endorsement of succeeding Councils at their discretion.
- 2. The waiving of subscription fees for Spouse Members and 75% of the full rate for Overseas Members. Spouse members will not receive hard copies of publications by mail.
- The option for the Council to waive membership dues and arrears for undischarged bankrupts for one financial year. Extension of waiver beyond one financial year shall require endorsement of succeeding Councils at their discretion.
- 4. The nominees for the position of SMA President to be fully registered in the Register of the Singapore Medical Council for at least ten years.
- 5. The increase from eight to ten Council Members to retire each year and be replaced by ten new Council Members for a term of two years.

All the amendments were voted on and passed successfully. SMA



Standing, L to R: Dr Bertha Woon Yng Yng, Dr Chow U-Jin, Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar, Dr Toh Han Chong, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Prof Wong Tien Yin and Dr Noorul Fatha As'art
Sitting, L to R: Dr Tan Yia Swam, Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Wong Tien Hua and Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui
Absent: Dr Tan Sze Wee

52nd SMA Council 2011 - 2012

President 1st Vice President 2nd Vice President Honorary Secretary Honorary Treasurer Honorary Assistant Secretary Honorary Assistant Treasurer Council Members Dr Chong Yeh Woei A/Prof Chin Jing Jih Dr Toh Choon Lai Dr Wong Tien Hua Dr Lee Yik Voon Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui Dr Tan Yia Swam Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar Dr Chow U-Jin Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Noorul Fatha As'art Dr Tan Sze Wee Dr Toh Han Chong Dr Wong Chiang Yin **Prof Wong Tien Yin** Dr Bertha Woon Yng Yng