

# SMA Annual Dinner 2010 Report







The polished grandeur of Shangri-La Hotel formed the intimate setting of this year's annual dinner, a mingling of friends both old and new. Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Dr Balaji Sadasivan graced the event on 8 May 2010 as the Guest-of-Honour. In addition, he, Prof Tan Cheng Lim and Prof Woo Keng Thye were conferred the SMA Honorary Membership. This is the highest honour that SMA can bestow on persons who are distinguished in public life or who have rendered meritorious service to the medical profession or to the association.

Prof Tan Cheng Lim is Emeritus Consultant and Associate Dean of KK Women's and Children's Hospital, while Prof Woo Keng Thye is Emeritus Consultant and Advisor, Department of Renal Medicine at the Singapore General Hospital. (See citations for SMS Balaji Sadasivan, Prof Tan Cheng Lim and Prof Woo Keng Thye on page 7, page 9 and page 10 respectively).

Other highlights of the dinner included:

#### **SMA MERIT AWARDS**

The SMA Merit Awards were presented to three individuals for their contributions to SMA.

- Professor Wilfred C. G. Peh was Editor of the Singapore Medical Journal (SMJ) from 2004 to 2009. He is also Senior Consultant and Head of Department of Diagnostic Radiology at Alexandra Hospital.
- Ms Celestine Fong has served as lecturer for the SMA
  Health Care Assistant Course and BCLS Chief Instructor &
  Committee Member of the SMA CPR Training Programme
  Committee since 1992. She is also Clinical Administrator at
  Fong's Clinic for Women at Gleneagles Hospital.
- Ms Christina Loh is also lecturer for the SMA Health Care Assistant Course and BCLS Chief Instructor & Committee Member of the SMA CPR Training Programme Committee. In addition, she is Management Representative and Courseware Developer for CSM Academy International Pte Ltd.

### **SMA LONG SERVICE AWARDS**

The Long Service Awards were presented to A/Prof Daniel Fung, Prof Wilfred C. G. Peh and Dr Tham Tat Yean. A/Prof Fung and Prof Peh have served on the SMA News Editorial Board and SMJ Editorial Board respectively for the past 10 years. Dr Tham has served on the SMA Council and various committees, including

the SMA Complaints Committee. Dr Tham was unable to receive the award in person.

#### **TOKENS OF APPRECIATION**

Dr Yeo Sow Nam Alex and Dr Ho Kaiwei were presented with tokens of appreciation for their contributions to the SMA Council. Both were unable to receive the award in person.

#### SMJ BEST RESEARCH PAPER AWARDS

The award was launched in 2004 to encourage publication of high quality local and international research papers with the SMJ and to promote and recognise local and regional researchers for their achievements.

A call for contribution of original papers was placed in the July to December issues of 2009, sponsored by GlaxoSmithKline Pte Ltd. The three winning papers were selected from over a hundred manuscripts published.

The first prize went to Ms Phua Hwee Pin, Ms Lily Chua Ai Vee, A/Prof Stefan Ma, A/Prof Derrick Heng and A/Prof Chew Suok Kai for their paper "Singapore's burden of disease and injury 2004". They were awarded \$5,000 sponsored by Pfizer Pte Ltd.

The second prize – comprising a \$3,000 cash award sponsored by Merck Sharp and Dohme (IA) Corp – went to Dr Ritesh Agarwal, Dr Ashutosh Nath Aggarwal and Dr Dheeraj Gupta for their paper "Is noninvasive pressure support ventilation as effective and safe as continuous positive airway pressure in cardiogenic pulmonary oedema?"

The third prize was awarded to Dr Tan Kiak Mien Veronique and Mr Tan Seck Guan for their paper "Technique and early results of ultrasound-guided foam sclerotherapy of the long saphenous vein for treatment of varicose veins". Dr Tan and Mr Tan were presented with a \$2,000 cash award sponsored by Novartis (S) Pte Ltd.

All winners also received a commemorative trophy sponsored by SMA, as well as a certificate.

SMA and SMJ would like to take this opportunity to thank Aesthetic Bay, Central Equity Limited and Dr Grace Kong and Associates for their kind support and sponsorship of the SMA Annual Dinner. The 51st SMA Council would also like to thank all guests who attended the dinner and contributed to its success.

SMA

## **Feature**

12 | SMA News may 2010



## **Feature**



▼Standing (L-R): Mr and Mrs Andrew Yeo, Dr Patricia Chin, A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr NK Yong, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Wong Chiang Yin. Seated (L-R): Mr Toh CY, Dr and Mrs Tan CH, Dr Khoo Bee Sim.















